Lacy E. Suiter

In recognition of professionals who have dedicated their careers to making citizens, communities and states safer from disasters and emergencies, the National Emergency Management Association (NEMA) presents the Lacy E. Suiter Distinguished Service Award.

The award is named posthumously in honor of Lacy E. Suiter, one of the nation’s most experienced and respected emergency management and homeland security leaders of his time.  As the former Director of the Tennessee Emergency Management Agency, NEMA President, and Director of Response and Recovery for the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), Suiter demonstrated a clear vision for what emergency management could and should be, leadership at the highest levels, and a passion for helping people that knew no bounds.  

The Lacy E. Suiter Award is presented annually to an individual who has made cumulative outstanding contributions directly to emergency preparedness, mitigation, response or recovery at a local, state, regional or national level.  These career accomplishments (italicize or underline previous 2 words) in emergency management are of unusual merit (italicize or underline previous 2 words).  

Nominations are now closed for 2019.  Nominations for the 2020 award will open in July 2020. Please complete and submit the application form as instructed. 

Lacy E. Suiter's widow, Norma Jean,
accepts the first Suiter Award.

 A look back at previous Distinguished Service Award recipients:

Stan McKinney - 2018  Glen Woodbury - 2017 Craig Fugate - 2016



Don't have an account yet? Register Now!

Sign in to your account